Barossa Living





Barossa Living

Barossa Valley - South Australia - Wine Region - Yarra Valley

Australian Wine - Napa Valley - Red Wine - Food Wine






Listen to Coronavirus Patient Zero

The Illness And Death Of Napoleon Bonaparte

RRP $18.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

This volume which initially appeared in the Lancet, represents a final attempt to lay or exorcise the persistent pathologic ghost of Napoleon's last illness and death. It is based on a careful examination of the documents and a microscopic study of the specimens preserved from the autopsy. Of the authenticity of these specimens there seems to be still some slight doubt; but, accepting them as genuine, there seems good ground for accepting the author's conclusion that "the cause of Napoleon's death was cancer of the lesser curvature of the stomach developing on the site of an old gastric ulcer." There were also vesical calculi, and at the apex of the left lung some small healed foci of tuberculosis. On the basis of the clinical history, and considering the medical knowledge and diagnostic methods of the time, Chaplin attempts a defence of the physicians who have been so severely criticized for their treatment of the Emperor. An appendix contains the brief biographies of these four physicians; a second, the story of the specimens, which are preserved in the museum of the Royal College of Surgeons, London; and a third an account of the exhumation of Napoleon on Oct. 16, 1840. There is a melancholy grandeur of interest associated with this final clinico-pathologic study of Napoleon's case, as with all that pertains to the history of the great Corsican.

-Boston Medical and Surgical Journal, Volume 168


Into The Valley Of Death

RRP $38.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

"Into the Valley of Death" is the first in A.L. Berridge's "Crimean War" series. 1854 - The Allied armies prepare to besiege the Russian stronghold in the Crimea. Harry Ryder is a maverick hero. Resentful of the army that destroyed his father and his own career, he has no time for incompetent commanders. He clashes with his superiors as fiercely as he fights the Russians. Four men, one woman and a game of cards will change everything and alter the course of a war. Something evil has crept into the ranks of the British Army's own officers, an unknown enemy who plans lure men to ruin on the battlefields. The only path to victory lies in uncovering the truth, but to find it and confront his own destiny Ryder must charge with the Light Brigade into the Valley of Death itself...From A.L. Berridge, Top Ten Bestselling author of "Honour and the Sword", comes "Into the Valley of Death"; the first in a sensational new series set to the bloody backdrop of the Crimean war. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden, "Into the Valley of Death" is a masterpiece of exhilarating historical adventure. So begins a thrilling new series set in the midst of a brutal war that shifted the balance of power in Europe and set the stage for World War One. Praise for A.L. Berridge: "Fast-moving, exciting historical fiction ...bringing the Crimea back to life ...It's pitch-perfect, breakneck writing". (Conn Iggulden). "The novel opens at a cracking pace and accelerates...A. L. Berridge has done it again - quite simply superb". ("The Historical Novel Society"). "Explodes into life, drama and action on every page. This truly is an outstanding book". (Parmenion Books). A.L. Berridge read English at Oxford, and taught for ten years before moving into television, where her production credits range from period drama and thrillers to long-running soaps. She has written two previous novels, Top Ten bestseller "Honour and the Sword" and "In the Name of the King", which are both available from Penguin.



Search

Barossa Living Articles

Barossa Valley South Australia Wine Region Yarra Valley
Australian Wine Napa Valley Red Wine Food Wine

Barossa Living Books

Barossa Valley South Australia Wine Region Yarra Valley
Australian Wine Napa Valley Red Wine Food Wine

Barossa Living